Iron Guard

I’m very, very excited to be able to say that my first Warhammer 40,000 novel is out today as an ebook premiere: Iron Guard. You can see the cover on the right, complete with my name in a delightfully big, bold font, and buy the book directly from Black Library here.

I approached Black Library about the possibility of writing a full length novel after finishing edits on my short story Sanctified, and  was asked to pitch something for their Imperial Guard line, war stories about the human forces of the Imperium in the 41st century.

After knocking proposals and outlines back and forth between myself and the editors, we eventually settled on the Mordian Iron Guard as my protagonists. Although the Mordians are well established in the 40k universe, the specific regiment and individual characters are all original, and I was given great leeway to fill in any gaps in Mordian culture.

As the book only came out this morning I won’t talk about the plot beyond saying that it takes a relatively green Mordian recruit from the sunless world of Mordian to a deserted mining world, where he discovers first hand the full horrors waiting out in the 40k universe, ready to prey on unwary humans.

FUN!

Having read through the book very recently while proofing, I’m very pleased with how Iron Guard turned out, and look forward to hearing from readers.

Iron Guard is available as an ebook for £6.50 from Black Library, right here.

July 25, 2012. Tags: , , , . Uncategorized.

