A Little Xmas #2

The pressure of doing a weekly review of solicitations might become a bit of a grind, but the astute of you may have noticed I’ve already broken the cycle – by completely forgetting to do the second one. Well done, me. At least I won’t need to worry about skipping a week in future, as the whole project is, to put it in Garp terms, ‘pre-disastered’.

Anyway, tomorrow’s releases: it’s Maundy Thursday tomorrow, and I’ll be spending the afternoon on a train, so a good hefty stack of comics is required if I’m to avoid doing any work on the train.

52 continues, and as we’re up to week 48 the end (and the promisingly Paul Dini-led ‘Countdown’) is in sight. After a quite reasonable couple of fill-in issues, Dini himself is back on Detective Comics, so this should be another single-issue treat from a writer both creative and disciplined in his storytelling. I can’t recall whether this month’s Superman is a fill-in or not – Busiek’s last issue featured the Prankster and was an amusing standalone, but ‘Camelot Falls’ isn’t such an amazing story that readers will wait forever for the conclusion. For now, I’m willing to extend some patience. Finally for DC, there’s Justice League of America #7 – while Brad Meltzer’s Red Tornado arc was emotive, it so thoroughly restored the status quo at the end that it might as well never have happened. Hopefully his new one will have less set-up and more point.

Over at Marvel, it’s the more obscure characters who are the highlights – Immortal Iron Fist has proven good value, Irredeemable Ant-Man has been misanthropic fun and the frankly over-titled Thunderbolts Presents: Zemo: Born Better had a genuine surprise at the end of the previous issue, something the parent title has failed to do under the over-hyped, under-talented writing regime of Warren Ellis. (More on Zemo and pals can be found here.) Although I wasn’t blown away by the first issue of Marvel Zombies vs Army of Darkness, I may give the second issue another shot if I’m feeling generous. I’m equally lukewarm on Joss Whedon taking over Runaways – not being a fan of Brian K Vaughn I’ve never picked up the title before, and Whedon’s Astonishing X-Men has been over-extended and ridiculously delayed. Still, I might feel a generous mood coming on.

One Whedon title I will be picking up is Buffy the Vampire Slayer #2 from Dark Horse, shamefully the only non ‘big two’ book I’m planning on buying tomorrow. The first issue was great, and has reinvigorated my interest in a franchise I’d pretty much forgotten about.

May skip next week due to an extended Easter break, and the fact that I’ll be away for the delayed delivery day. Or I might not. Feel the drama.

Mark

April 4, 2007. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

