Enslaved to a dark and terrible master.

Unable to post at the moment, as ‘Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords’ has me in its merciless grip. By combining the addictive qualities of a colour shifting puzzle game with the narrative and levelling up of an RPG, Infinite Interactive have created the gaming equivalent of candy coated crack. I stop playing late at night, and when I wake up the next morning that damn music is still going round in my head.

A fantastic game, then. There is something incongruous about combat via puzzling in a fantasy RPG, as this recent Penny Arcade strip demonstrates. If playing with coloured gems to defeat a rat seems weird, bear in mind that you also get to pit your puzzling wits against a wooden catapult at one point, and even an entire city. I wouldn’t be entirely surprised to find myself fighting a giant marshmallow or a well-polished bench in the games later stages.

Mark

April 3, 2007. Tags: . Uncategorized.

